TF Archives

The AniMatrix is coming - TranZfusion brings you a few teasers

Author: Michelle Pirovich
Monday, May 19, 2003
From the directors of Ninja Scroll, Cowboy Bebop, Akira and Aeon Flux and featuring a soundtrack by electronica heavyweights Juno Reactor, Photek, Tech Itch and Freeland comes an awe inspiring collection of tales that delves deep into the bizarre world that exists within the 'Matrix' - 'The AniMatrix'.

Taking three years to create and featuring the hottest talent in Japanese and Hollywood animation 'The AniMatrix' DVD is a collection of nine short films. With an unprecedented fusion of CG-animation and Japanese anime the contributors to this project include Yoshiaki Kawajiri, writer and director of Ninja Scroll and Vampire Hunter D; Shinchiro Watanabe, the writer director of Cowboy Bebop movie; Koji Morimoto, animation supervisor of the highly influential anime film Akira; Mahiro Maeda, director of Blue Submarine #6; Takeshi Koike, lead animator on Wicked City; Peter Chung, creator and director of Aeon Flux and Reign the Conqueror; and Andy Jones, the animation director for Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within.

With an original score by Don Davis (composer for all three Matrix films) the soundtrack also includes a mind bending collection of tracks from some of electronica's best producers, Juno Reactor, Layo and Bushwacka, Junkie XL and Meat Beat Manifesto. Also included are vocals from 'The Matrix' leads Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Anne Moss.

Included in the 180 minutes of entertainment is an array of features. 'Scrolls to Screen' - a documentary about the history and culture of Anime, seven 'making of' featurettes which include directors profiles and audio commentaries, Japanese and English subtitles are included. To tie in with the 'Matrix' videogame there is also a feature interview with Jada Pinkett and Carrie-Anne Moss.

In conjunction with Cornerstone Digital, TranZfusion have a few audio and video snippets to tickle your tastebuds. Stay tuned for giveaways on the site.

Audio streams

Red Pill - Junkie XL
RealMedia Stream
WindowsMedia Stream

The Real - Tech Itch
RealMedia Stream
WindowsMedia Stream

Martineau Waves - Meatbeat Manifesto
RealMedia Stream
WindowsMedia Stream

Trailer Streams
WindowsMedia Stream Low
RealMedia Stream Low
WindowsMedia Stream High
RealMedia Stream High
QuickTime Stream Low
QuickTime Stream High


"Who Am I" Peace Orchestra (5:58)
"Big Wednesday" Freeland (5:03)
"Blind Tiger" Layo + Bushwacka! (6:19)
"Under The Gun" Supreme Beings Of Leisure (3:28)
"Martineau Waves" Meat Beat Manifesto (7:41)
"Ren2" Photek (4:05)
"Hands Around My Throat" Death In Vegas (5:05)
"A Beauty That Never Fades" Junkie XL (6:13)
"Supremoves" Overseer (4:18)
"Conga Fury" Juno Reactor (7:24)
"Red Pill, Blue Pill" Junkie XL (8:58)
"The Real" Tech Itch (8:01)

'The Animatrix' is due for release June 3