TF Archives

DMC Presents: Under the Influence - Super Furry Animals

Author: DMC
Thursday, March 3, 2005
After a short hiatus the Under the Influence series returns, this time around focusing on more contemporary artists.

Wales first sons the Super Furry Animals each select 3 tracks that have influenced them and their sound thus resulting in a fifteen track odyssey that reflects their own output of techno-folk lunacy.

Super Furry Animals have released 6 artist albums to date all of which reached Gold status in the UK.

They also released the critically acclaimed Welsh spoken/sung 'MWNG' album which has sold in excess of 45,000 units in the UK alone.

S.F.A can comfortably straddle dance and alternative markets and this is clearly reflected in this albums sound and tracklisting. The album climaxes with 4 dance classics all reminiscent of the last 20 minutes of a SFA live show.

As with all UTI albums there are some very unique tracks chosen and this particular release is no exception; Dennis Wilson's exquisite and incredibly rare 'Lady' being a perfect example.

Under the Influence - Super Furry Animals is an indispensable album for Furries fans and anyone with a broad musical heritage.

Beach Boys - 'Feel Flows' (as chosen by Bunf)
Undertones - 'My Perfect Cousin' (Bunf)
Datblygu - 'Casserole Efeillaid' (Gruff)
Gorky's Zygotic Mynci - 'Christina' (Gruff)
Sly And The Family Stone - 'Family Affair' (Daf)
Dawn Penn - 'You Don't Love Me' (No No No) (Guto)
ELO - 'Telephone Lines' (Daf)
Dennis Wilson and Rumbo - 'Lady' (Guto)
Meic Stevens - 'Ghost Town' (Gruff)
MC5 - 'Kick Out The Jams' (Guto)
Bizet - 'Pearl Fishers' (Cian)
Underworld - 'Rez' (Daf)
Humanoid - 'Stakker Humanoid' (Cian)
Joey Beltram - 'Energy Flash' (Cian)
Hardfloor - 'Acperience' (Bunf)